Shopping Cart

No products in the cart.

Go to top

EU countries extend sanctions against Russian, Chinese hackers – POLITICO

The EU Council on Monday expanded a tool the bloc can use to impose asset freezes and travel bans on foreign hackers, including those imposed by Russian, Chinese and North Korean government-backed groups last year.

The national capitals “decided to extend the framework for restrictive measures against cyber-attacks threatening the EU or its member states for another year. by May 18, 2022, “the council said in a statement.

These so-called “cyber sanctions” are a measure that the countries have had in place since May 2019 to deter hackers and to react to attacks on European targets.

The EU imposed its first sanctions in July 2020 in response to cyberattacks against Russian, Chinese and North Korean hackers involved in serious incidents in recent years, namely the NotPetya ransomware outbreak, the Cloud Hopper supply chain hack and the WannaCry Ransomware attack.

In October 2020, the bloc imposed sanctions on two Russian intelligence officers and a unit of the GRU military intelligence service for their involvement in hacking the German Bundestag in 2015.

Leave Comments